Loading, please wait....

Traffic Diversion Program Testimonials

February 12, 2018
"I recently took an online Defensive Driving Course through Improv as part of the Chenango County Traffic Diversion Program. Although dreading the effort that I thought I was going to have to put out, when I finished the program, I had quite the opposite reaction. The registration, delivery, and certification was easy and painless. The material in the course was relevant, and was delivered in a manner that kept your interest, and "yes" I did learn a few things that I think will make me a better driver (you can teach an old dog new tricks).
The cost was fair, considering that a ticket would cost at least the amount of the program, and the bonus is that a portion of the money stays in Chenango County rather than going to the State. The "double bonus" is that my insurance company accepted the certificate of completion and reduced my insurance rate. Kudos to Gard Turner for being helpful with my questions and to DA McBride for trying this program in Chenango County. Progressive handling of infractions is a positive step in county government and hopefully it will be continued."
February 5, 2018
"I wanted to write and personally thank Gard R. Turner, Traffic Diversion Program Coordinator for going above and beyond to help my son and I.
My son had been offered to take the Traffic Diversion Program and was having a difficult time understanding the process. Searching several web sites did not give him the information that he really needed. Time was running out for him to complete this program before his next court appearance. After several calls to the courts, and other numbers given to us we were finally directed to call Gard R. Turner.
He could not have been any more helpful then he was. He directed us through every step we needed to take. He sent us the direct link for my son to take the course. Time was running out, but Mr. Turner helped us and because of his help my son was able to complete the course in time.
He was very kind and understanding, and very knowledgeable. When I e-mailed him questions he responded right away. We are so grateful for his help.
I am a mother of a college student, who is living 3 hours away from him. This in its self can be challenging enough. But working with Gard Turner made this process easy, and very clear.
All too often people write letters to complain about service. Well that could not be any further from the truth for the service we received. I wanted to let you know just how vital Mr. Turner is to your organization and how appreciated his service was."
"I just want to provide feedback on my experience with Chenango County's Traffic Diversion Program. I received a speeding ticket in Chenango County and at the pre-hearing I was given the option of participating in the Diversion Program. I immediately accepted the offer! I applied for and was accepted into the Program and then registered on one of the on-line Defensive Driving courses, of which there were many to choose. Fortunately for me the timing was over the recent Holidays so I was able to devote the time necessary to get through the course within a few days. The only issue for me with the course I took was that upon finishing the course I found out that it may be up to two weeks to receive the certificate of completion via mail from the course provider. Had I not started the course early, or had not finished the course until a few days before my 30 day window expired, I would not have received the certificate in time to meet the County's requirements, even though I had completed the course. So instead of having 30 days to complete the requirements, I effectively had only 14 days due to the course provider. My recommendation would be that all course providers should be required to provide immediate (electronic) notice of completion that can either be printed and mailed to you, or emailed to you, in order to show completion of the requirement. I do recognize the course provider sends immediate notification to the DMV, which is all well and good, but my guess is that does not satisfy Chenango County's requirement for purposes of the Diversion Program."
"As far as the County's rationale for creating the Diversion Program I believe you are providing a great service to the Court system and the offender. It is a much more sensible means of dealing with traffic offenders because it actually reinforces the importance of defensive driving and defensive driving techniques. A mere fine does nothing positive. I commend the District Attorney for having the foresight to put this program in place, and it certainly benefited me financially while also making a positive difference in my driving habits."
"One suggestion I offer is perhaps the Diversion Program card (that DA McBride gave me to describe the program) be given to the driver at the time of being ticketed, meaning the police officer gives the driver a ticket and then explains they can go through the program but the time clock starts as of the date of the ticket. It would just lessen the court docket even further and be of added benefit to the driver."
"Thank you for making the Diversion Program available to me; it was a very positive experience."
"An added benefit was once I saw how easy it was to enroll in the Defensive Driving course I got my 20 year old son to take it also. That will save me on my insurance cost, and hopefully have a positive impact on his driving and safety. Thank you!"
January 15, 2018
"I am happy to tell about my experience with the Traffic Diversion Program and my personal situation. I drive truck for a living and I got caught in a speed trap in Rockdale, I didn't slow down soon enough and got ticketed for 54 mph in a 40 mph zone, with a company 24 ft box truck. I already have 4 points on my licence (both failure to obey traffic control device) so another 2 point ticket would put me over the limit, losing my driving privileges and my job! My options were fight the ticket, plead down to a lesser charge (2 points) or the Traffic Diversion Program. I didn't know there was such a thing but I'm sure glad there is! I didn't waste any time applying for the program. Once I received my letter of acceptance to the program, I then enrolled in a NYS approved driver safety class, passed, and sent my certificate of completion back to the DA's office. Simple as that! Total cost to me was $200 for the program and $39 for the AARP safety course. I was bound to pay some fine anyway, and the course should lower my insurance rate as well. In my opinion, this is a great program. It helps drivers like me avoid additional points on our licence and get us into driver safety programs, and brings in money for the county. Great job and thank you for your timely replies."
January 4, 2018
"I received a speeding ticket in the Town of Bainbridge, NY in September 2017. As an alternative to having points on my license, I was offered the Traffic Diversion Program. This is a great program! No one wants to have points on their licens. The program allows one to take a defensive driving course online in lieu of having the speeding ticket on their record. It’s a great way to refresh your memory on the rules of the road and get educated on what can happen when people make bad decisions behind the wheel. In addition, you can get up to 10% off your car insurance premium. I applaud Chenango County for implementing this program!"
January 3, 2018
"My experience of the Traffic Diversion Program was a positive one. I haven't heard much of the information in quite some time and it's good to have a refresher. It was useful information and it required 6 hours of timed chapter reviews along with quizzes, so it's quite a commitment. I recommend the program and thank you for the opportunity."
January 2, 2018
"I received a speeding ticket in the town of Preston. The ticketing officer (Chenango Country Sheriff) presented the ticket and then told me about the Chenango County Diversion Program of which I could have the ticket dismissed if I entered the program.
Sounded like a deal as I have a clean licence and want to maintain a clean licence. So, I went online to the DA's site and read all the requirements. I decided quickly that the "fee" coupled with the Defensive Driving Class "fee" would be close to the "fine" and all I had to do was sit for the class.
I went to the DA's office, worked with Gard Turner to enroll and then did the class online. While the online class requires you to sit for 6 hours it also requires you to know the answers to each segment's questions. I learned allot from the class of which I have already incorporated this knowledge into my new and improved driving habits!!
My understanding is that this program benefits the county as the money stays in the county and does not go to Albany, the fact that the class makes you think about the many aspects of how to drive within the law is a good lesson, the class also saves me on my insurance costs too.
This program is not punitive like a ticket, the program takes a positive approach to educate the violator. Basically, the Diversion program is a win/win situation!!
I would also suggest that this program should be "tracked" by the DA's office to have a clear understanding of the revenue gained rather than sending it to Albany as well as track the "offenders" to see if their driving habits have improved.
I thank you for the opportunity to participate in the Diversion Program."
December 18, 2017
"After being cited for speeding, Chenango County offered me an option to enroll in a traffic safety course, which upon successful completion would dismiss my traffic ticket. I was able to complete the course on-line at my own pace, and I learned a lot from it. Not only did I avoid getting points on my license, I've also become a smarter driver. I recommend this course for anyone who has the option."
December 9, 2017
"What an innovative and refreshing way to handle traffic violations! I had never received a moving violation and was very stressed out by the experience, but when I heard about the Traffic Diversion Program, I was completely relieved. The program is well run, efficient and taking the safety course reinforced good driving practices. This should be a model for all districts across the country!"
November 20, 2017
"I would like to take the time to thank [...] you for allowing me to participated in this Traffic Diversion Program. I have been 26 years without a speeding ticket, and thought myself a very good driver. So good I stopped taking Driver Safety courses about 10 years ago. This infraction caused me to stop and pause. Since taking this course, I have learned that even though I am not a bad driver per se, I had a lot to learn, or be refreshed on. I realize I have become more aggressive in my driving than I should be. I am glad to see NY cares about safety and has programs like these to help us drivers get back on track with driving more responsible. I will now be continuing these types of courses every 3 years at least, as it will help me maintain a more attentive approach to driving. Again, thank you for your mercy and this opportunity to learn from my mistake as opposed to being punished."
November 10, 2017
"I really appreciated having the traffic diversion program as an alternative option for my speeding ticket. By taking a course, I was able to make amends through improving my driving knowledge and becoming a safer driver than I would have been if I had just paid a ticket, and it relieved so much stress to know that I could learn from my mistake and get a second chance. The office was so helpful with assisting me in making sure that I had all the right forms and documents to complete the program, they were really supportive throughout the process. I'm so grateful for this option and would definitely recommend it to anyone with a motor vehicle violation!"
October 30, 2017
"...my experience working this program was very smooth and I appreciate everyone's help in setting up this program and I hope it continues to be available for those who have misfortunes thank you again".
October 20, 2017
"I was pleasantly surprised to learn of the Traffic Diversion Program opportunity that is now being offered to qualified candidates. Too many times the initial instinct for dealing with traffic offenders is to punish them via a steep fine. I am extremely impressed that the County of Chenango DA's office chose to go after a solution to the problem instead, via education. I readily followed the application process which was laid out very well and easy to understand. I came into the course thinking I pretty much knew everything there is to know about driving but I walked away with a few eye openers and am definitely better for everything else that I have learned. I took the AARP Smart Driver course and highly recommend it. It is very easy to follow and I didn't encounter any on-line glitches. I like how it remembers where you've left off in case you can't finish it in one sitting and you need to sign back on later. I was also happy to learn that this particular course will earn me a discount on my auto insurance. I will be taking the abbreviated refresher course every three years in order to keep the discount going! Hats off to the DA's office and especially the program coordinator. My experience with them was very positive and it was nice to see how genuinely friendly and helpful they were."
October 18, 2017
"I wanted to say how great it was to have been allowed to take the Traffic Diversion Program. I am 54 years old and had never received a speeding ticket. The opportunity to take this class online was very convenient. I also learned how to be a better driver with things like and how to handle situations where someone is following to close, how to properly pass a vehicle and how to be more in control of driver's on the other side of the road.

I hope this program continues and especially for people like myself that slip up once in a while."
September 28, 2017
"In my experience, the Traffic Diversion Program was easy to apply for, and the end result allowed me to keep my driving record clean. The big plus was avoiding the time and expense of court, for both me and the county. I took an online driving class and did learn a few things, it’s been over 40 years since my high school driver education class. What was best was doing it on my own time, before and after work. This is a valuable program that needs more publicity. I’m sure most people do not know it exists. I didn’t know about it until the Trooper who issued me my ticket told me about it. Many thanks to her."
August 24, 2017
"I'm glad that the traffic diversion program is available. It enabled me to brush up on my safety awareness at the same time as saving some money on my car insurance. Thanks!"
August 21, 2017
"I would like to say that I found the program to be very helpful and efficient. I am thankful that I was able to use this program, even given the circumstance. I found it beneficial and easy to understand. Thank you."
August 21, 2017
"I was very happy with how everything was processed. The registration process was very easy and was explained in a letter very well. I choose the AARP Driving Safety course as I am 62. I found the course very informative. The only thing I hope they work on is that it was not offered on mobile devices.
I was very happy with the speed in which everything was handled. I started the process ... on August 1 and I had my letter ... on August 15 telling me my ticket was dismissed. Of course the fact that I won't have any points on my license was a big selling point for me.
I think the course gave me some helpful strategies and will help me become a safer driver.
Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the Diversion Program."
August 4, 2017
"I was recently a participant in the Traffic Diversion Program that your office offers. I will be honest, I did not know such a program existed until my attorney pointed me in this direction. It was quite an easy process to follow once I realized I qualified. I took my course online through New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, and the prompts were very descriptive and helpful.
As I took this defensive driving course, even after been driving for over 30 years, I learned some things and it was beneficial to have a refresher course. I found that the website was easy to navigate. I have already told some people about this program, and asked that both my children who are relatively new to driving, to go on and take this course as well. I think its neat that you can get a % of a discount on your car insurance premiums, as well as being helped through what could potentially be a very costly mistake down the road through the state and your insurance company.
I'm a firm believer that you are never too old to learn something new. I thank the Chenango County District Attorney's office for giving me the opportunity to participate in such a descent program, and highly recommend this program to anyone that qualifies for it, to take advantage of it and utilize it. I cannot stress this enough!"
August 1, 2017
"I recently participated in the Chenango County Traffic Diversion Program. I entered the program after receiving a traffic violation that carried a potentially heavy penalty if convicted. As I had an otherwise good record for the 40 years in which I've been driving, I was offered the opportunity to have my infraction dismissed if I worked with your office and agreed to take a safe driving course and pay a fee of $300. Although I don't remember all the specifics, I was given to understand that some portion of that amount would be shared with the local community. This seemed like a very good way to help support some of the smaller towns and rural villages in our state that may often be short of revenues for operations and community improvements.
I can say that my completion of the traffic safety course was very beneficial. I had a choice of several online courses, but selected a six-hour class produced by the AARP. This online class was quite informative, very well-produced, and full of useful and important information for seniors like me who think they've "done it all and seen it all," and have nothing new to learn about driving. Thanks to taking the course, I am much more aware of my environment, of the safety requirements of my vehicle, and of the hazards associated with driving under various physical conditions. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I learned from this class, and I believe the time was very well spent.
I understand that the Traffic Diversion Program is a new venture for the county. It seems like a clear win for the community, and is certainly a good experience for people like me-- generally careful drivers, who make an unexpected mistake - but gen an opportunity to learn from it and achieve a positive outcome from law enforcement. I really hope you continue this program; I think it's a good one."
July 22, 2017
"I recently took the traffic diversion program since I received a speeding ticket in Broome County. I was motivated to do so primarily because I did not want the ticket on my record and I was concerned my insurance premiums might go up. I did have some technical issues taking the course on my iPad, but once I used my PC things worked fine. The course was supposed to take 6 hours and it actually took me ten hours to complete. Although that was a bit of a nuisance, I feel the knowledge I gained and renewed respect for being a safer and more defensive driver was worth it. The course also helped me regain appreciation for the privilege of driving. It is a bonus that my insurance premiums are also being discounted 10% because of the class. I did no know that taking the course is an alternative to receiving a ticket until a friend mentioned it to me. I recommend that the courts or officer administering the ticket give this information to the driver receiving the ticket since this will certainly increase the rate of ticketed drivers taking the course."
June 29, 2017
"I, not unlike other citizens I am sure, have a general fear of dealing with government programs. In the main, I have spent an inordinate amount of time filling out form upon form, being shifted from one person to another, responding to requests for additional details...And the list goes on. My interaction with the Chenango County Traffic Diversion Program and Mr. Turner, the coordinator, was the complete opposite experience. I felt listened to and understood. I was offered alternatives. Everything was professional, courteous; informative; efficient and action oriented. I was asked to review the instructions on the web site. The directions completing the application, response to the citation, etc. were clear and again to the point. Another "wow." In summary, to say the program was efficient and effective would be an understatement. Thank you."